2020 Colorado Golf Hall of Fame Awards

Golf Person of the Year 

Mary Weinstein

Mary Weinstein of Highlands Ranch swept the 2019 CGA Women’s Stroke Play Championships, becoming only the third player (Jennifer Kupcho and Kim Eaton are the others) to accomplish the feat in the same year. The University of Denver senior also captured the Summit League Championship and her third consecutive Colorado Golf Association Woman Player of the Year award.

Distinguished Service Award 

Jerry Walters

Jerry Walters, who has interviewed thousands of professional golfers during his 25 years as host of the popular “In the Fairway” radio show, will add this award to his two CGA Dave Nelson Media Awards, the 2003 and 2015 Colorado PGA Todd Phipers Media Award and 2015 Colorado Open Ralph Moore Golf Journalism Award. Walters also teaches short game at the Trent Wearner Golf Academy.

Lifetime Achievement Award 

Eleanor Pelligrini

Eleanore Pellegrini, a fixture in Colorado women’s golf for more than a half-century, won two CGA Senior Women’s Stroke Play titles, six CGA Women’s Brassie Partner trophies and 37 club championships (20 at Wellshire Golf Course and 17 at The Pinery Country Club). A former vice president of the Colorado Women’s Golf Association, Pellegrini workedo on its Course Rating and Handicap Committee.

Future Famer Award 

Micah Stangebye

In 2019, Micah Stangebye of Montrose High School repeated as the Class 4A boys state high school champion. The senior carded a 9-under-par 133 at The Bridges to win by nine strokes and lead the Indians to their third consecutive state team championship. Earlier in the year, Stangebye also won the AJGA Preview at Fair Oaks Ranch near San Antonio. He plans on playing for Arkansas Tech University in the fall.

Future Famer Award 

Charlotte Hillary

Kent Denver senior Charlotte Hillary won her third Junior Golf Alliance of Colorado (JGAC) Tour Championship at Cherry Hills Country Club. The future Northwestern University freshman captured the AJGA Junior at Big Sky in Montana and recently qualified with Hailey Schalk for their second U.S. Women’s Amateur Four-Ball. For raising more than $40,000 through its Leadership Links Incentive Program, the AJGA awarded Hillary its prestigious Jerry Cole Sportsmanship Award.

Copyright 2019 Colorado Golf Hall of Fame