October 27, 2016 - Jon Rizzi

Colorado Golf Hall of Fame Announces 2017 Class

For the first time in 32 years, the Colorado Golf Hall of Fame will welcome only one new member when the Class of 2017 is inducted next spring.

That sole inductee is M.J. Mastalir, a longtime USGA Executive Committee member and Colorado Golf Association governor who spearheaded the acquisition and development of the property that has become Common Ground Golf Course. The CGHOF will induct Mastalir during a May 21st dinner at Sanctuary Golf Club in Sedalia. The last solo inductee was Paul McMullen in 1985.

Mastalir, however, won’t be the only one honored that evening. The CGHOF Board of Directors will also recognize individuals and organizations for their accomplishments: Rick Polmear, winner of the Will F. Nicholson, Jr. Lifetime Achievement Award; the Junior Golf Alliance of Colorado, recipient of the Distinguished Service Award; and Jennifer Kupcho, the Golf Person of the Year.

This article appears in the Fall 2016 issue of Colorado AvidGolfer, to read the entire article Click here

The Colorado Golf Hall of Fame dinner will take place May 21 at Sanctuary in Sedalia.

Sanctuary will also host the annual Colorado Golf Hall of Fame Tournament June 29. The event, an 11:30 shotgun, will feature 30 foursomes at $1,000 per foursome.

March 01, 2016

Colorado Golf Hall of Fame Classic 100 Campaign

The Colorado Golf Hall of Fame has embarked on a unique fundraising campaign. This Thursday, March 31*, at the South par-3 layout at the Greg Mastriona Golf Courses at Hyland Hills (above) in Westminster, 18 board members will play in the Colorado Golf Hall of Fame Classic 100.

That 100 represents the number of holes each participant will play that day to benefit the History of Golf in Colorado Foundation, the 501(c)(3) that operates the Colorado Golf Hall of Fame, its museum and its support of youth programs in concert with the Colorado Golf Foundation.

Participants in Colorado Golf Hall of Fame Classic 100 include, alphabetically, Gary Baines, Steve Bell, Jim Brown, EJ Carr, John Gardner, Maggie Giesenhagen, Janene Guzowski, Vic Kline, Gary Leeper, Guy Mertz, Janet Moore, Gary Potter, Scott Radcliffe, Dave Richardson, Jon Rizzi, Keith Schneider, John Trenck and Mark Valente. Each received pledges for each hole played. More than 450 donors have ponied up, with projected donations exceeding $90,000—more than twice the original goal of the campaign—before the March 31* event.


The idea behind the 100-hole affair came from Hall of Fame inductee and board member Gary Potter  with Dow Finsterwald, who learned about the fundraising event site ProFundWest through former Colorado Golf Association Executive Director Warren Simmons.

Board member Dave Richardson secured the Hyland Hills course—named for 2014 inductee Greg Mastriona—as a donation. Following the golf, a celebration for all board members will take place at what you might call the 101st Hole.

April 13, 2016

Colorado Golf Hall of Fame Appoints Executive Director

In 2009, after coaching the University of Denver’s women’s golf team to consecutive top-10 

finishes in the 2008 and 2009 NCAA finals, Sammie Chergo received the Colorado Golf Hall 

of Fame’s Golf Person of the Year Award. Seven years later, the Hall has again rewarded

Chergo’s leadership by naming her its executive director.

This article appears in the Fall 2016 issue of Colorado AvidGolfer, to read the entire article Click here

  2017 Hall of Fame Inductees
  100 Classic
  New Executive Director

Copyright 2019 Colorado Golf Hall of Fame